FOR PUBLICATION

HONORARY ALDERMAN / ALDERWOMAN (GV110)

Meeting:	Cabinet
Date:	18 July 2023
Cabinet portfolio:	Cabinet Member for Governance
Directorate:	Chief Executive
For publication	

1.0 Purpose of the report

1.1 To enable the Cabinet to consider proposals to confer the title of Honorary Alderman and Honorary Alderwoman on former Members of Chesterfield Borough Council.

2.0 Recommendations

- 2.1 That an extraordinary meeting of the Council be held in September 2023 to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on former Councillors Terry Gilby and Alexis Diouf and the title of Honorary Alderwoman on former Councillor Christine Ludlow.
- 2.2 That the Chief Executive, in consultation with the Leader of the Council, be authorised to make the necessary arrangements for the Council meeting and civic reception including approval of the associated costs.

3.0 Reason for recommendations

3.1 To recognise the eminent services rendered to the Council by long serving and distinguished former Members.

4.0 Background

- 4.1 Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972 permits Chesterfield Borough Council to confer the title of Honorary Alderman or Alderwoman on former Members of the Council who have, in its opinion, rendered eminent services to it. After the Honorary Freedom of the Borough, it is the highest honour the Council can bestow.
- 4.2 The conferment of the title requires the convening of an extraordinary meeting of the Council and the support of two-thirds of the Members voting at the meeting.

- 4.3 Since Local Government Reorganisation in 1974, Chesterfield Borough Council has conferred the title of Honorary Alderman / Alderwoman on the following former Members of the Council:
 - Walter Everett in 1980
 - Harry Haywood in 1987
 - Michael G Caulfield in 2004
 - Ronald Jepson in 2004
 - Donald Arthur Wain MBE in 2004
 - Thomas Edmund Whyatt in 2004
 - Dr. Asad Shafi Qazi in 2011
 - June Beckingham in 2011
 - Terence Kendellen in 2011
 - Mick Leverton in 2011
 - Jim McManus in 2015
 - Stewart Bradford in 2015
 - David Stone in 2015
 - Stephen (Steve) Brunt in 2019
 - John Burrows in 2019
 - Ray Russell in 2019

5.0 Majority Group's proposals

- 5.1 The Majority Group wishes to recognise the eminent services rendered to the Council by former Councillors Terry Gilby, Alexis Diouf and Christine Ludlow by conferring upon each of them the title of Honorary Alderman / Alderwoman.
- 5.2 It is proposed that an extraordinary meeting of the Council be arranged for September 2023 to confer the title of Honorary Alderman / Alderwoman on the 3no. former Members of the Council. The meeting will be followed by a civic reception at the Town Hall.

6.0 Implications for consideration – Financial and value for money

6.1 A supplementary budget provision in the region of £3,500 will be required to fund the extraordinary meeting of the Council and the civic reception at the Town Hall.

7.0 Implications for consideration – Legal

7.1 The legal provisions that enable Chesterfield Borough Council to confer the titles of Honorary Alderman / Alderwoman on former Members of the Council have already been referenced in paragraph 4.1.

8.0 Implications for consideration – Human resources

8.1 There are none arising from the contents of this report.

9.0 Implications for consideration – Council plan

9.1 There are none arising from the contents of this report.

10.0 Implications for consideration – Climate change

10.1 We undertake climate change impact assessments when civic and ceremonial policies and procedures are first prepared or revised to minimise the negative climate change impacts arising from these activities and maximise opportunities for education and positive messaging.

11.0 Implications for consideration – Equality and diversity

11.1 We undertake equality impact assessments when civic and ceremonial policies and procedures are first prepared or revised to ensure that these activities are accessible and celebrate diversity and inclusion. The Council and political groups have for a number of years undertaken work to reduce barriers to becoming an elected member and promoting opportunity, which is enabling a more diverse range of people to engage in local democracy.

12.0 Implications for consideration – Risk management

12.1 There are none arising from the contents of this report.

Decision information

Key decision number	Non-key decision but listed on the forward plan due to importance to the borough.
Wards affected	All

Document information

Report author	
Huw Bowen, Chief Executive	
Background documents These are unpublished works which have been relied on to a material extent when the report was prepared.	
None Appendices to the report None	